ASA Board of Directors

As a non-profit charitable corporation, ASA is governed by a 13 member Board of Directors. Board members are elected for terms of three years, with two members rotating off each year.  Current members are:

ASA Management Team

All members of the management team,  except for the operations manager, are Academy Village resident volunteers. 

Gary Fenstermacher: ASA Interim President. CEO of Academy Services Corp. (Ex Officio ASA Board Member). Retired Professor of Education, University of Michigan. Former Dean, University of Arizona College of Education. Academy Village Resident.

Tim Schiffer: ASA Vice Chair. Tim Schiffer was a museum curator and executive director, and is a practicing artist. He has been a resident of Academy Village since 2022.

Diane Ashton: PhD in ed. psych., Professor and Fulbright Scholar, lengthy career in Public Education, including working with school boards and served on many non-profit Boards.  Academy Village resident.

Stanley Davis: ASA Board Member. Brown University. Retired Navy. Consultant re: national security information management.   Academy Village Facebook page developer/editor.  Academy Village resident.

Bill McCourt: A.S.A. Vice President for Administration.  Retired utility Manager for the Lummi Nation and the City of Bellingham.  Academy Village resident.

Susan Simmons: Retired family and child psychotherapist in Washington State. Served on many nonprofits in Whatcom County for 30 years. Experienced facilitator for Board development and fundraising.  Academy Village Resident


Bruce Wright, ASA Board Chair, Assoc. Vice-President, Tech Parks Arizona, retired; UA Office of Economic Development; recipient, 2017 Arizona Best Award for Economic Development; 2018 Man of the Year award by Greater Tucson Leadership. 

Brad Anderson; ASA Vice Chair; President/CEO Greater Vail Chamber of Commerce; Owner Brad Anderson Insurance Agency; Former Executive Vice President of the Colorado Cattle Feeders Association.

John Carruth, ASA Board Member; As of Feb. 2020, Superintendent of Vail Public Schools; Former Chief of Staff for AZ Board of Education; Former teacher & administrator in Vail Public Schools for 20 years.

Dr. Alain-Philippe Durand: the Dorrance Dean of the College of Humanities, U of A, Professor of French, and affiliated faculty of Africana Studies, Applied Intercultural Arts research, Latin American Studies, LGBT Studies, and Public and Applied Humanities, U of Arizona.

Pastor David Hook, ASA Board Member; Pastor Christ Lutheran Vail Church; Professional Civil Engineer; Chairman Pima County Planning & Zoning Commission.

Kathie Insel: ASA BoardKathie Insel, ASA Board Member; Professor, College of Nursing, U of A. Director, Innovations in Healthy Aging, and  U of A. Assoc. Director Strategy & Development for AZ Center on aging.

Kristin Murray; Coordinator for the Vail Innovation Center, encompassing Vail Blended Learning Middle School and the Vail School District Online High School.Developer of the Book Share program in relationship with the Arizona Senior Academy.

ASA Administration

President: Gary Fenstermacher

Vice-President for Administration: Ernie Mattern

Programs: Charmaine Wellington

Treasurer: Jennifer Broden

Secretary: Ann Ratcliff

Resident Music Liaison: Leslie Nitzberg

Operations Manager: Tremia Vague ([email protected])

Program Managers

Lectures: Charmaine Wellington
Music: Leslie Nitzberg
Classes: Diane Holtz & Margaret  Benson
Finance: Jennifer Broden
Technology: Jim Johnson
Information Resources/Library: Maria Dobozy
Art Wall:  Virginia Richardson      

Tremia Vague in ASA Office